give me a break.

It is comforting to know that I am not the only one who feels like blogging is a big commitment and that it takes time, energy, brain cells, and a computer; things that are not usually with me….

It will take me some time to develop a consistent routine for my blog. It may start with me being in one place in the world for longer than a week, waking up before 11 AM, and shedding my obsessive compulsive workout habits such as endless hours of hot yoga, interval running, and binge drinking.

So where have a been in the past two months? If you can read; CONGRATS than you know I got home from Kenya about 3 weeks ago, coached some lacrosse in Philly for a week, headed to Colorado to coach again and play….

Being in Vail, CO is like being in a candy store with your dad’s wallet. Except this candy store houses Jack Daniel’s Honey Whiskey, and who doesn’t love it when sugar and booze (my two favorite food groups) meet? In all seriousness having such a great team in Vail is a blast. We have played together for 4 summers now and it keeps getting weirder! And this summer my best friend Leah made the trip!

Leahtard.

I can’t really recap Vail for a few reasons.

  1. Most activities were against the law.
  2. Most activities would offend the average reader.
  3. Most events were captured in embarrassing wordless photos.
  4. I am trying to get a job.
  5. Frankly, I don’t remember the majority of it; which is a wonderful thing ;)

My butt asks "what's for dinner", my shorts answer "all you can eat."

Leah and I naturally l found a driving range….

True athletes drink Michelob Ultra.

True athletes also eat 1/2 pizzas as a midnight snack. Thank you camera for this incriminating evidence of my ogerness.

After our Vail craziness we headed down to Denver to have a BBQ on the 4th with friends and watch fireworks. We also met this cute little man, Jack. Jack MUST have been a theme of the week…

 

We also had a mini UCONN reunion at the BBQ. Who doesn’t love that!

After Colorado, I headed back to Charlotte for 2 days before another trip up to New York for a fun filled, Gin and Tonic filled weekend!

Some older UCONN alumni played in a tourney outside of Syracuse and my past teammate was getting married in Rochester. Two for one special! I got to catch up with old coaches, teammates, friends, family and dogs in the past month and it has been great to see some old faces.

I got a little depressed nostalgic at the wedding and feel remotely exhausted. I want to feel grounded this summer for more than 72 hours and stop living out of a suitcase. I think my trip to Kenya is surfacing emotions in my sub conscious and I feel anxious about school, work, and life in general! I am so grateful to see many friends, it is rare I get to see them during the academic year. In a mini reflection the other day; I thought to myself “damn my friends are the shit”. So if that is you (roughly 6 and 1/2 people), I love you and you keep me grounded.

Amani and whiskey love.

 

2 thoughts on “give me a break.

  1. Jeff says:

    Crazy Nomad -

    Keep it up, Ash. We (your readership) dig reading about your crazy road trips.

    JT

  2. Leah Giffin says:

    who is the 1/2 friend?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

